Ad Hominem: ICYMI

Tweeted a little, well, rant, I guess, is the only appropriate word. It was about ten tweets, so I thought I’d repeat it here:

Due to the nature of my internship, I’m not allowed to really discuss who calls into the office or what they say, and I get that…

I respect people’s privacy, and understand that their Congressman is supposed to be their Rep in gov’t. I get it. That said, though…

I’ve got to say something quickly here, and I’ll try to be as brief as possible

As Americans, we have got to stop fueling our political debates with sad, pathetic, worthless Ad Hominem attacks.

I’ve gotten called twice in as many days by a guy who wants to do nothing but berate and insult me for my political views…

Because I represent the Congressman, I’m really not supposed to argue with him, and I don’t, I bite my tongue.

All I’m saying is, rather than attack each other, why don’t we act like adults and have reasonable, fair discussion. Debate, like we usedta?

Ad hominem attacks are pathetic.

And just to clarify, I’m sure this happens as much if not more to Democrats. There’s bad fruit on both sides of the aisle.

All I’m saying is, let’s grow up and stop attacking each other. It leads to hurt feelings, not solutions, and life’s too short for that.

Alright, I’m off my soapbox. Sorry for the rant, tweeps.#stilllovesayingtweeps.

Thanks, everyone, that’s all I have to say. If you want to follow me, it’s @StephenGround 

Leave a comment